Suprema Webinar_08 : BioStar 2 AC Beginner (Crash Course) - 2.5 hours 


For more details, please refer the below description, the recorded video file, and  the attached file.




In this webinar, we are going to discuss the basic configuration of Access Control doors on BioStar2 and some of the precautions that we have to be aware of to assure a smooth configuration of the solution for the customers

1. Understanding BioStar2 Access Control License
2. After BioStar2 installation
    2.1. Installing HTTPS certificate
    2.2. Change the logs (MSSQL version)
    2.3 Add a maintenance user for the SI
3. Activate BioStar2 license (online & offline)
4. Add devices (server mode, device mode, network precautions)
5. Add users (finger enrollment precautions to avoid FAR & FRR)
6. Add doors (with 1 reader (IN) for a door and 2 readers (IN & OUT) for another door)
7. Create Access group & Access level
8. Batch edit for users, devices, & doors
9. Private authentication for users
10. Custom fields for user profiles
11. Device configuration quick look
13 Understanding zones configuration.


When the webinar opened:  

Date: Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Duration: 150 mins
Time: 
05:00 PM (GMT+9), Seoul
12:00 PM (GMT+4), Dubai
10:00 AM (GMT+2), Paris (CEST)
09:00 AM (GMT+1), UK (BST) 


Date: Thursday, May 21, 2020
Duration: 150 mins
Time: 
08:00 PM (GMT+4), Dubai
12:00 PM (GMT-4), New York (EDT)
09:00 AM (GMT-7), San Francisco (PDT)  


Speaker: Hatem Kahla, Regional Technical Manager I Suprema Middle East 



Top 7 - Q&A List  

Q.1) Is installing HTTPS certificate necessary? If I don't install, will my BioStar 2 still works?

It will work without installing HTTPS Certificate. but, several feature such as Cloud would be not available to access. So, we recommend installing HTTPS certificate.


Q.2)If customer's Server/ PC/OS/Hard Disk crashes, then while reinstalling can Customer use the same license key?

Yes you can used the same license but you will need to ask us to reactivated it.


Q.3) Can you use a DNS name instead of a IP address in the URL?  What if you have a purchased certificate from a certificate authority, can you use that certificate instead of downloading one from BioStar?

1. DNS: https://support.supremainc.com/en/support/solutions/articles/24000024360--biostar-2-using-2nd-generation-devices-with-ddns

You can have your private certificate and make the hostname instead of entering an IP address.
2. cert: https://support.supremainc.com/en/support/solutions/articles/24000005211--biostar-2-how-to-apply-a-private-certificate-for-https


Q.4) can the fingerprint database from BioStar 1 able to migrate to BioStar 2?

Yes, we provide the migration too to BioStar2 SW installation, for more details, please refer to the link https://support.supremainc.com/en/support/solutions/articles/24000005680--biostar-2-biostar-1-to-biostar-2-database-migration


Q.5) How to add BEP/BEW in a non DHCP environment?

Then, the device IP will 169.254.0.x.  If the device is located in same network, you can search it via UDP and then, assign a static IP to the device.


Q.6) Any special network port that we need allow from networks side for devices communication?

Yes, there are several port information to allow to access. https://support.supremainc.com/en/support/solutions/articles/24000005909--biostar-2-server-and-device-port-usage



Q.7) generally, why can we connect devices as slave?? what are the main benefits ?

The main benefit is to add a slave device in a not secure zone to a master device in the secure zone for example.